Member Spotlight - Bridgit Corbett


Bridgit Corbett, EdD, RDN, LD



Tell us about your job.

I am currently employed as a lecturer at Clemson University. My job responsibilities include teaching specific courses, such as Food and Culture, Quantity foods Production, Nutrition throughout Lifecycle, and Introduction to Human Principles of Nutrition. Advisement is another responsibility where I advise 60-70 students. Additionally, I serve as an advisor for the Mentoring Program within the nutrition department and act as co-advisor for MANRRS (Minorities in Agricultural, Natural Resources, and Related Sciences). Serving on the diversity committee is another responsibility. During the summertime, I also work summer orientation and teach on-line courses.


What do you find most interesting about your job?

I find advisement to be most interesting because it can be a rewarding experience.


How did you get into this field?

When I was 14 years old, my mother made me volunteer at the hospital as a candy striper. After volunteering during the summer, I realized that I would love to work in the health field but was not familiar with nutrition, but only nurses and doctors. I learned more about the field of nutrition after my first year of college. Also, I was an athlete (Track and Cross Country) in high school, so I showed a great interest to nutrition.


Where were you born and raised?

I was born in Sumter, SC. Since my father was in the Air Force, I lived in several states: Okinawa (Island), Japan, Fort Walton Beach, Fl, and Myrtle Beach, SC. Finally, my father retired, and we moved to Wilmington, NC when I was 12 years old.


Where did you go to college and/or complete an internship?

I attended North Carolina A&T State University where I received BS in Dietetics and MS in Food and Nutrition. I received my Doctorate of Educational Leadership at the University of Phoenix. I completed my internship at Southern Regional Medical Center in Riverdale, GA.


Besides your profession, what are you hobbies?

I love to dance, go to the movies, and workout after work.


What are your favorite foods?

My favorite food is shrimp.


What is on your bucket list?

To travel to a different country every summer and to learn salsa dancing.


How long have you been a member of NEP DPG? And why did you join?

5 years. A friend was doing recruitment for the nominating committee, so I joined and decided to run for my first leadership role.


Any other interesting things you would like to share with NEP members?

Before transitioning to academia, I worked in the clinical setting for 15 years. I'm licensed to practice in both South Carolina and Georgia. Long-term care was my first job where I stayed in the field for 7 ½ years. My second job was in dialysis where I worked 7 ½ years before making the decision to go into education. Also, I did some consulting for a behavior home with children from 5 to 18 years old. While working fulltime, I was also teaching as an adjunct instructor. Having the opportunity to teach encourage my decision to pursue a doctorate.