Member Spotlight - Sharon Meier Lutheran

 

Sharon Meier Lutheran, MSH, RN, RDN, LDN, CLC

 

 

Tell us about your job.

I currently have a full-time and two PRN positions. I work with Duval County Public Schools in Jacksonville, FL as a school nurse in an elementary school. I work with three diabetic students, medication administration, and tube feedings during the week. I also work with Baptist Medical Center with health fairs in community settings and for Morrison as a diet clerk in a skilled nursing facility on the weekends.

 

What do you find most interesting about your job?

Nutrition and nursing are closely intertwined. Being a RN has made me a better RDN; I feel I have more knowledge and am more realistic about patient care whether pediatric or adult.

 

How did you get into this field?

I decided in junior high to pursue a degree in food and nutrition. In college, I had a double major of dietetics and consumer food science. My first professional job was reviewing school lunch programsin the state of South Dakota.

 

Where were you born and raised?

I was born in Cherokee, IA and raised on a 200-acre farm in Galva, IA. We had a Holstein cow for milk and my family had cattle, hogs, and chickens and a garden of vegetables and fruits such as strawberries, raspberries, and blackberries. Dad planted corn and soybeans during the spring.

 

Where did you go to college and/or complete an intership?

I attended Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa for a BS in Food and Nutrition and had a double major of dietetics and consumer food science. My intership was completed at the University of South Dakota in Vermillion, SD. I also completed my MSH at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville, FL.

 

Besides your profession, what are your hobbies?

I enjoy trying new recipes, quilting, and knitting.

 

What are your favorite foods?

I love apples, strawberries, and cookies. If I had a dream it would be to open a cookie store and have a variety of regular and specialty cookies.

 

What is on your bucket list?

I would like to learn some German and visit where my ancestors came from in Northern Germany. I would also like to visit Paris and the countryside and vineyards in France.

 

How long have you been a member of NEP, and why did you join?

I’ve been a member for over 10 years. I've been a member of several DPGs over my 30 year membership with the Academy. I first became a member of the Executive Committee nine years ago and have loved meeting other members and working on a national level.

 

Are there any other interesting things you would like to share with NEP members?

I have a 14 year old son in high school and have been married for 22 years. You'll often hear me talk about "the guys." I'm trying to help my son learn to cook but haven't had a lot of success. Any ideas of encouraging teenagers to cook would be welcome. We should probably have a webinar on the topic.