Member Spotlight - Yolanda Jackson


Yolanda Jackson, MS, RD, LD

Lecturer, University of Kentucky

Tell us about your job. I am a Lecturer at the University of Kentucky in the Department of Dietetics and Human Nutrition. I work mostly with junior and senior students. This semester, I’ve had the pleasure of teaching Food Service Sanitation, Principles of Cooking and Human Resources for the Foodservice and Hospitality Industry. 

I am also the faculty advisor for the Student Dietetic and Nutrition Association. This group of motivated students participate in hunger issues, volunteer and service work. As the faculty advisor, I provide guidance when needed, but this group of students are definitely self-driven!

Lastly, I am the Assistant Director of the Supervised Practice Program where I work with two other directors coordinating preceptors and placement sites for the Coordinated Program and Dietetic Internship.


What do you find most interesting about your job? I find my students most interesting! The way students learn, learning how to motivate my students, and knowing what works best for them in the classroom is the most interesting aspect of my job.


How did you get into this field? I always tell people, Dietetics chose me because I was pre-nursing, pre-physical therapy and finally undecided until I took an introductory nutrition class. I enjoyed the class so much that I asked the instructor “what can I do with this?” The instructor told me all about dietetics and what jobs were out there. From that point, I declared Dietetics as my major my junior year of college!


Where were you born and raised? I was born and raised in Lexington, KY.


Where did you go to college and/or complete and internship? I attended the University of Kentucky for my bachelor and master degrees. I also completed my Dietetic Internship from the University of Kentucky with my rotations being in different facilities throughout Lexington, KY.


Besides your profession, what are your hobbies? I enjoy fitness and working out. I also love to travel, mostly to warm places with a beach.


What are your favorite foods? Anything made with avocados, salmon, tilapia, turkey burgers, and potatoes!


What is on your bucket list? There are many life experiences that I would like to enjoy but a few include the following: traveling to Italy, various islands in the Caribbean and being able to travel to national tournaments to cheer on my CATS! I’ve been to the SEC tourney and the final four, but due to work obligations, I’ve never seen my Kentucky Wildcats win a NCAA national championship. So seeing my CATS win a national championship would be a great experience for me.


How long have you been a member of NEP DPG? And why did you join? I’ve been a member of NEP DPG since October 2016! I joined at FNCE because another colleague told me how awesome this DPG was and how it would be beneficial to me in my new role as a Lecturer.